Which Countries are Not Members of The United Nations (UN)?

The United Nations is the world’s largest international and inter-governmental organization with 193 countries as its members. However, a few countries still haven’t been able to become a part of the organization and are not members of The United Nations.

Countries are Not Members of The United Nations

Here, we will discuss the four most popular countries that are not members or observer states at The United Nations.

1. Kosovo

Kosovo declared its independence from Serbia in the year 2008. However, in spite of being recognized by more than a hundred countries, Kosovo still isn’t a part of the United Nations. Due to China and Russia using their veto powers, Kosovo isn’t allowed to enter the UN.

2. Vatican City

Vatican City is the smallest country in the world located within the city of Rome. In 1944, discussions took place regarding whether to let Vatican City become a part of the United Nations or not.

However, it was eventually denied membership as it is a very small country. But Vatican City was given the status of a Permanent Observer country in 1964. 

Vatican City
Vatican City
Taipei 101, Taiwan
Taipei 101, Taiwan

3. Taiwan

Taiwan’s not being a part of the UN is quite surprising. It was one of the founding members of the United Nations in 1945 and was a member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) as well. But on 25 October 1971, Taiwan’s seat in the UN was given to China, and Taiwan was removed from the UN.

Since then, China’s veto has always been an obstacle for whenever Taiwan has tried to regain its status in the UN. The official name of Taiwan is also the Republic of China and is not a member of The United Nations (UN).

Not Members of The United Nations - Kosovo
Not Members of The United Nations - Western Sahara
Western Sahara

4. Western Sahara

Western Sahara is not a Member of The UN because it is a disputed region in north-western Africa and is controlled by neighboring Morocco as well as the self-proclaimed Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic (SADR). 

Western Sahara is bordered to the north by Morocco which controls 80% of its territory, to the east by Algeria, and to the south and south-east by Mauritania.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *